Welcome Noren

Hello from London,

this week I am very excited, because in less then 7 days “Zurich will meet London”, when Ale is coming to Britain! I will welcome her with one of my first embroidery projects that I will introduce in the following.
I took my inspiration from these two pattern-books which I bought used from Amazon. You find a lot of nice stitching books there which almost cost nothing.

NOREN_1

I combined a Chinese lantern pattern with the letters for “welcome” with the intention to create a nice image for a Noren. Noren are traditional Japanese fabric dividers, hung between rooms, on walls, in doorways, or in windows (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noren).
NOREN_2The finished stitching was sewed on a plain Noren made of dark blue cotton fabric. Bead on a bamboo, it was easy to mount above the doorway.NOREN_3“Welcome Ale!!!”
I can’t wait to post our first common post from London in one week!

Leave a Reply

