Made in Italy : Strassara

Hi from Zürich!

…but just back from Italy, where I was for a long week.

Being in my home town I couldn’t miss to make a tour in the biggest warehouse of fabrics, wool and buttons that I know, that in our dialect is called “Strassara” and it means place of rags.

There is not a lot to say, eccept that it is really amazing how many deals I can make there. Every time. Amazing.

It is not just the price of the things, It is something about the attitude of the salespersons, who own the warehouse from the 80′. it is something in their venetian countryside way of selling that is both naif and street-smart. Like the self made placard where is written to bring your own scissors because their ones disappear.

Screen shot 2014-03-19 at 9.22.56 AM

strassara3

This time I just bought a 4 kilos of wools in 4 different colors (Ok, it is not the best quality but the colors look great!) and a piece of white hard fabric, so simple but so difficult to find, as the same owner said to me!

Screen shot 2014-03-05 at 9.51.10 PM

Once it happened that I took a bunch of buttons from the box and I was spurred on to take them as much as I wanted without paying by the owners. It is not about generosity, it is about get rid of them because they have so many things for so long time.

If you think that in Zürich they will make you pay every piece even in a cheap flea market… Is it maybe this a countryside attitude that is common everywhere?

Keep creative,

Ale

Leave a Reply

