Merton Abbey Mills Weekend Market

Hello from London!
Ale’s post motivated me to go out and explore what South London has to offer in terms of crafty markets. My target: Merton Abbey Mills Weekend Market.

merton1

At this time of the year it is a bunch of little stands of local handcrafters and farmers surrounded by some permanent shops, pubs and cafes. Everything appeared a bit dozily… But the location is very nice and I already make a memo to come back at a Summer-Sunday-Afternoon to have a Ale at the riverbank!

My highlights were the jewel shop, were I treated myself with a jade necklace and matching earrings (I have recently been in China and missed the chance to buy some jade there.)

merton2_1

Also I really liked the pottery place where I found a nice butter dish.

merton3_1

Finally, I got a piece of bread pudding, which I enjoyed in the sun in my backyard.

DSC00573

What a nice Saturday!

Leave a Reply

